Nothing says Christmas like black and blue.

28 Dec

These turned out so cute, but they were such a tedious pain in the butt to make that I put off finishing them until the very last minute. In a world full of stocking patterns with the word “easy” in the title, I chose the one that would involve crocheting a bajillion tiny, tri-colored circles then sewing them together. I didn’t buy any new yarn for them. I just used yarn I already had. I wasn’t sure about the colors at first, and my daughter assured me black was a bad choice for a Christmas stocking, but I really like the final result.

Now I’m on to preparing for my next project, thanks to my cousin mailing me an old school supplies box full of embroidery floss from my hoarder great-aunt’s collection. I haven’t done any embroidery or cross-stitching since I was in my mid-twenties, so I don’t have any supplies. I’ve been on ebay all day going over frame and fabric possibilities. I’m really excited about the idea I have. What I’m not as excited about is trying to cross-stitch with two toddlers trying to get their grubby little hands on my fabric, floss, and needles.

Leave a comment